The BTEC Higher National Certificate or Diploma in Engineering is a well-respected qualification and the equivalent to starting university-level study. It can stand you in good stead to go on to complete a degree at university or go straight into employment. In order to get the best out of studying at this level you will need commitment, discipline and initiative. This guide has been written to help prepare you for the demands of Level 4/5 study. It includes essential study techniques such as:
● time management
● prioritization
● advanced research techniques
● assessing the validity of a source.
The BTEC Higher National is assessed through a range of different methods, which will be set by your center. This may combine report writing, practical demonstrations, presentations and producing finished products. BTECs are hands-on vocational qualifications, and so you should expect your assessments to mirror the kind of work you would be completing in the Engineering sector. Your tutor will set assignments for the qualification, which will be marked within your
center. Each assignment will include a set of assessment criteria that you must achieve in order to pass the assignment. In addition, there are opportunities to stretch yourself and achieve higher grades:
● You can be awarded a Merit for a unit if you achieve all Pass criteria and all Merit
criteria for the unit.
● You can be awarded a Distinction for a unit if you achieve all Pass, all Merit and all
Distinction criteria for the unit.
The third section of this guide focuses on getting the most out of your assessments, from structuring an argument to understanding what’s required by the higher-level grading criteria. This guide also includes essential information about plagiarism. Your center will have guidelines set out for how they deal with scholarly malpractice, which can result in work not being accepted. This section will help you cite references and others’ ideas clearly, reducing the risk of your assignments being rejected.
We hope that you find this Study Skills Guide useful in preparing you for your BTEC Higher National, and wish you good luck with your studies.

Progression to university

The Pearson BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma is recognized by Higher Education providers as meeting admission requirements to many relevant engineering degree programs in subject specialisms such as:
• Engineering
• Electronic and Electrical Engineering
• Production and Manufacturing Engineering
● Mechanical Engineering
● Operations Engineering
● Semiconductor Technologies
• Embedded Electronic Systems.
Students should always check the entry requirements for degree programs at specific Higher Education providers. After completing a BTEC Higher National Certificate or Diploma, students can also progress directly into employment.


Two (02) years


Secondary School Certificate (SSC) with Science subjects


O level with Science subjects.